Monday, August 24, 2009


Malaysia is a country in Southeast Asia that consists of 13 states and 3 federal territories. The capital city is Kuala Lumpur, while Putrajaya is the seat of the federal government. The country is separated into two regions, namely the Peninsular Malaysia and the Malaysian Borneo, by the South China Sea. Malaysia borders Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore and Brunei. The country is located near the equator and experiences a tropical climate. Malaysia's head of state is the Yang di-Pertuan AgongYang. This a term that is similar to King. An elected monarch, and the government is headed by a Prime Minister.

The name Malaysia was adopted in 1963 when the Federation Of Malaya, Singapore, North Borneo and Sarawak formed a 14-state federation.

During the late 20th century, the Southeast Asian nation experienced an economic boom and underwent rapid development. Economic growth during the 1980's and 1990's, averaging 8% from 1991 to 1997, has transformed Malaysia into a newly industrialized country. Because Malaysia is one of the three countries that control the Strait of Malacca, international trade is integral to its economy. At one time, it was the largest producer of tin, rubber and palm oil in the world. Manufacturing makes up a mjor sector of the country's economy Malaysia has a bio-diverse range of flora and fauna and is also considered one of the 18 mega-diverse countries.

Malays form the majority of the population of Malaysia. There are sizable ethnic Chinese and Indian communities as well. The Malay language and Islam are the official language and religion of the federation respectively.

What affects men sharply about a foreign nation is not so much finding or not finding familiar things; it is rather not finding them in the familiar place. G.K. Chesterton.

(Tourist attractions visited:
Safari, Genting, Malacca City, Batu Caves, A' Famosa, Melaka)

(How I decided to go to Malaysia)

No comments:

Post a Comment

More Related Information